Fierce competition at Enduro races



The Bank Windhoek Namibian Enduro Championship produced another thrilling event at Farm Abbabis near Karibib, attracting a total of 48 riders from across the country that on Saturday competed on the rough track through stunningly beautiful scenery.
The rough and extremely challenging terrain got the better of some riders, with only 39 completing the full distance.

The Henle brothers, Marcel and Pascal, kept the championship open with wins in the motorbikes up to 200 cc and more than 250 cc classes, respectively. Frank Ahlreip snatched the championship lead from Sven Schneidenberger in the senior motorbike riders’ class.
Jens Rubow took control in the open quads class with his win, while Shannon Rowland was just one point short of winning the ladies quad championship. Pascal Henle (KTM) impressed with a stunning showing in the motorbikes with more than 250 cc class to take victory ahead of Henner Rusch (KTM) and Kai Hennes (KTM) in that order.

Needing victory to keep his championship title hopes alive, Henle clocked the fastest lap of the race in his attempt (58 min 29 sec) and from then onwards clung to the lead. Championship leader Rusch (KTM) rode an impeccable race, short on the heels of Henle throughout the race.

Marcel Henle (KTM) equally rose to the challenge, keeping his championship hopes alive with his 3rd win of the season in the motorbikes up to 200cc class. However, veteran rider Ingo Waldschmidt (KTM) made sure his championship lead remained intact, finishing 2nd, with Joern Greiter (KTM) adrift in 3rd place.

In the senior motorbikes class, David Brown (KTM) recorded his first victory of the season ahead of Frank Ahlreip (KTM) and Werner Wiese (KTM), while Ahlreip snatched the championship lead from Sven Schneidenberger (KTM) with Wiese shifting into 3rd position overall.

Philip Mentrup (Honda) won the clubman’s class ahead of Juergen Gladis (KTM) and Heinz Erni (KTM) in that sequence, leaving Gladis to lead the championship ahead of Gerald Heiser (KTM), who ended 4th.

In the off-road bikes class, championship leader Kurt Hartung (KTM) won his 4th race of the season, finishing ahead of Juan van As (KTM) and youngster Keanu Weber-Trianus (KTM). Hartung leads the championship comfortably ahead of Van As and Lenny Bagwitz (KTM).

In the development class, Noam Babluki (Kawasaki) reclaimed the championship lead again in the absence of previous championship leader Liam Gilchrist (Husqvarna) – leaving dam Johnston (Yamaha) tailing in 2nd to claim 2nd overall on the points table.

Jens Rubow (Yamaha) and J.L. Opperman (Honda) raced neck to neck for victory in the open quads class until the final lap that saw Rubow securing a hard-fought victory with Claire Brendel (Honda) having to be satisfied with 3rd place.

Rubow now leads the championship by six points ahead of Opperman. In the ladies quad class, championship leader Shannon

Rowland (Honda) claimed her 3rd win of the season and remains just one point away to seal the championship title. Maike Bochert (Honda) finished 2nd ahead of Jolly Fourie in 3rd.

The next championship race takes place on September 17 and the Namibian Enduro Club offers quad and off road motorbike enthusiasts the opportunity to enjoy the Enduro races and encourages newcomers to join.

Last weekend’s event was co-sponsored by Crown Mills and Monster Energy.

For further information please consult the Namibian Enduro Club website, where more information and registration forms are available.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here