Enduro Race delivers nail-biting action

Riders of the storm… Evergreen rider Ingo Waldschmidt was the winner in Class 1 division.



The fourth round of the Bank Windhoek Namibia Enduro Championship was filled with absolutely spectacular adrenaline pumping action for riders and spectators, Farm Neu Heusis, last weekend.

All riders completed an obstacle course crossing logs and completing a jump before hitting the dusty, rough and fast racetrack. Henner Rusch (KTM) recorded 3 wins in succession, once again clocking the fastest overall time in the motorbikes class of more than 250 cc.

Björn Bierbrauer (Yamaha) was hot on his heels throughout the race, managing the fastest lap of the race in 45 min and 7 sec, but had to settle for a 2nd place, with Kai Hennes (KTM) adrift in 3rd spot.

Pre-race championship leader, Pascal Henle (KTM), finished 4th – leaving the top four riders only separated by 2 championship points, with Bierbrauer and Hennes jointly in the lead (both 62 points).

Ingo Waldschmidt (KTM) fulfilled expectations in the motorbikes up to 200cc class, repeating his Neu Heusis victory of last year in an impressive and undisputed fashion.

Tom Moths (KTM) came back strongly and finished 2nd, ahead of Tommy Gous (Yamaha). The latter constantly increased the pressure on Moths, clocking the fastest lap time in this particular class.

He completed the challenging 30 km lap in 48 min and 24 sec, while championship leader Marcel Henle was unable to compete as a result of injury. Waldschmidt took the overall championship lead ahead of Gous, but the championship race remains wide open.

Sven Schneidenberger (KTM) dominated the senior motorbikes class once again, as he rode the 3 laps like fired up clockwork – emerging the fastest senior on the track. Frank Ahlreip (KTM) lost substantial time on the first lap losing his way, but then rode two fast laps to secure second place.

Kai Hohmeier (KTM) rode a near perfect race and was rewarded with his first podium of the season – finishing 3rd while Schneidenberger enjoyed a comfortable lead in the championship ahead of Ahlreip.

Veteran rider Ronnie Adams (KTM), having finished 2nd in the season’s opening race, at Omakwara, claimed victory in the Clubman’s Class. Gerald Heiser (KTM) finished 2nd,, while Jürgen Gladis (KTM) followed in  3rd – leaving Heiser firmly in the saddle in the championship lead, 5 points ahead of Gladis.

In the Off-road Bikes class, Kurt Hartung (KTM) secured his 3rd win of the season, just ahead of youngster Lenny Bagwitz (KTM) and his father Daniel Bagwitz (KTM) in 2nd and 3rd places respectively.

Hartung remains in the lead in this class, ahead of Lenny and Daniel Bagwitz. In the Development Class, rising motocross talent Liam Gilchrist (Husqvarna) won his second race of the season ahead of championship leader Noam Babluki (KTM).

J.L. Opperman (Honda) interrupted Jens Rubow’s (Yamaha) winning streak in the Open Quads Class. Rubow had won all three races of the season so far and thus started the race as slight favourite.

Oppermann, however, rode an immaculate race to secure victory at Neu Heusis. Claire Brendel (Honda) finished third. Rubow still has a comfortable lead in the championship ahead of Opperman in second.

In the Ladies Quad Class, last year’s undisputed champion, Maike Bochert (Honda), finally rewarded herself with her first victory and first championship points, after an unlucky start to the season.

However, Shannon Rowland (Honda) and Julia Moths (Yamaha) also both rode excellently to finish shortly behind Bochert in second and third positions. Rowland remains in the lead in the overall championship, ahead of Bochert and Fourie.

The next championship event will take place on July 16 at Uis and the Namibian Enduro Club has declared that, no race entry fee will be charged.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here