Welwitschias bank on local support



With 240 minutes of action gone on the clock, the Windhoek Draught Welwitschias are yet to record a single win after three rounds of matches.

The Namibian amateurs are rooted to the basement of South Africa’s provincial second tier rugby competition, the Currie Cup, and face another tough battle when they host visiting EP Kings at Hage Geingob stadium in Windhoek tomorrow. Kick off is at 15h00 sharp.

After suffering heavy losses in their opening two games home and away, the struggling Welwitschias showed slight improvement in their third match before going down 18–48 to rampant hosts Cell-C Sharks away at King Zwelithini stadium in Durban last weekend.

To keep true to his rotation policy, interim coach John Williams made a couple of changes to the starting lineup from the team that started against Cell C Sharks. Muniovita Kasiringua moves from the substitutes’ bench into the starting line up at number four, with Denzil van Wyk dropping out of the 18-man match day squad.

JC Greyling also gets a rare start, alongside debutant winger Phillip Nashikako, while loose forward Zane Groenewald has been included on the bench. The pair of Petrie Burger and AJ de Klerk will make their debut from the bench.

Meanwhile, the Namibia Rugby Union is appealing to local rugby followers to come out en masse to support the team. So far, visiting teams have commented on the amazing support from local fans. Tickets are available from Computicket, or at the gates.

* Are you the Best-Dressed Fan? Show your team support in a BIG way and stand a chance to win N$1 000 from Windhoek Draught. Practice your kicking skills this week as N$1 000 can be won in the FNB Kick For Cash competition.

 The full team is as follows: Quintin Esterhuizen, Gerhard Lotter, Shaun du Preez, Muniovita Kasiringua, Ruan Ludick, Rohan Kitshoff (captain), Leneve Damens, Rodrigues Victor, JC Winkler, Shawn Kaizemi, Philip Nashikako, Darryl de La Harpe,

JC Greyling, Johan Tromp and Riaa

n van Zyl. Substitutes: Petrie Burger, AJ de Klerk, Joe Herman, Zane Groenewald, Arthur Bouwer, Justin Nel and Francois Wiese.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here