Tigers on verge of historic league triumph 

Coaching legend... Namibia's most decorated veteran coach Brian Isaacs is on the verge of steering Tigers to its first ever post-Independence league title


Whether by hook or crook, all statistical indicators strongly suggest that MTC Premier League log leaders Tigers FC will this weekend rewrite Namibia’s football history books by winning their first ever post-Independence league title.

The last time Tigers won a league title was in 1985 when they won the pre-Independence      Namibia Super Soccer League (NSSL). Now 31 years down the line history beckons veteran coach Brian Isaacs and his charges, as they are within touching distance of lifting their first league trophy in independent Namibia.

Heading into this weekend’s matches, Tigers only need one point to be crowned 2015/2016 MTC Premiership champions. That means they will either have to win their matches against both Young Chiefs this Saturday and Rundu Chiefs on Sunday – or a draw in either game will also be good enough reason for the Shandumbala side to pop the champagne bottles.

Should Tigers win the league this weekend, at least for the first time in about seven years Namibian football will have a new champion in the shape of Ingwenyama. In recent years, the premier league title has been a bone of contention that alternated only between African Stars and Black Africa.

 Weekend Fixtures

Saturday, 16 April 2016

African Stars vs Rundu Chiefs (Independence Stadium at 13h00)

Tigers vs Young Chiefs (Independence Stadium at 15h00)

Eleven Arrows vs Tura Magic (Kuisebmund Stadium at 13h00)

Blue Waters vs UNAM (Kuisebmund Stadium at 15h00)

Civics vs Mighty Gunners (Sam Nujoma Stadium at 13h00)

Orlando Pirates vs Citizens (Sam Nujoma Stadium at 15h00)

Julinho Sporting vs Flamingoes (Rundu Sports Stadium at 13h00)

United Stars vs Black Africa (Rundu Sports Stadium at 13h00)


Sunday, 17 April 2016

Tigers vs Rundu Chiefs (Sam Nujoma Stadium at 13h00)

African Stars vs Young Chiefs (Sam Nujoma Stadium at 15h00)

Blue Waters vs Tura Magic (Kuisebmund Stadium at 13h00)

Eleven Arrows vs UNAM (Kuisebmund Stadium at 15h00)

Orlando Pirates vs Mighty Gunners (Independence Stadium at 13h00)

Civics vs Citizens (Independence Stadium at 15h00)

United Stars vs Flamingoes (Rundu Sports Stadium at 13h00)

Julinho Sporting vs Black Africa Rundu Sports Stadium at 15h00)








Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here