P-Square to perform at Kora Awards


Nigeria’s sensational pop twins, Paul and Peter Okoye – better known as P-Square – are scheduled to perform at the 2016 Kora All Africa Music Awards in Windhoek.

Following their blistering live performance last year and being one of Africa’s biggest acts to ever perform in the country, the duo will again be among the stellar performers lined up at the prestigious event.
This was confirmed by the founder of the Kora All Africa Music Awards, Ernest Adjovi, who revealed that the duo have confirmed their availability and will perform alongside other big names that will be announced before the actual event.

“We are happy to say that P-Square is among the performers and we are still waiting on other confirmations to announce the line-up,” said Adjovi.

Known for their catchy music, breathtaking stage performances, in 2010 P-Square were named Artists of the Year at the Kora All Africa Music Awards. In December 2011, they signed a record deal with Akon’s Konvict Muzik label. In May 2012, they signed a record distribution deal with Universal Music South Africa.

These ‘perfect twins’, as people say, have undoubtedly found their way into the hearts of their numerous fans around the world and there is little doubt that the two are some of the most successful African artists today. This much is evident from the massive success of their numerous concerts on the continent.

Over the past few years, the three-time MTV award-winning group has made an enviable impact in Africa, staging sold-out concerts… and the demand is still waxing stronger. P-Square has performed alongside international artists, like Ginuwine, Sean Paul, Akon and Busola Keshiro. Some of their hits include songs like Temptations, Personally, Alingo, and Chop My Money, which featured Akon on the remix, just to mention a few.
Currently eight nominated Namibians, representing various music genres, are in the race to win different award categories.

Local artists nominated are: Ees for Best Album (Authentic Rebel), The Dogg for Best Collaboration (Africa Baby), D-Naff for Best Male – Spiritual Music (Omwa, featuring Tequila), VM-Six for Best Group – Spiritual Music (Ekundugu), Sally for Best Urban (Kukutika), Elize Dentlinger for Best Female Southern Africa (Hold On), Gazza for Best Male Southern Africa and Erna Chimu for Best Traditional Female Artist of Africa (Hai Serute).

The awards ceremony will take place on March 20, 2016 at the Windhoek Country Club Resort and will coincide with Namibia’s annual Independence Day celebrations.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here