//Karas ready for election day



//Karas Region has declared its readiness for the upcoming regional council and local authority elections that will take place tomorrow.

Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) regional coordinator in the //Karas Region Sixtus Isaacks yesterday confirmed that all the logistics are in place and the polling teams are ready to proceed.
He said they have started deploying teams to their respective workstations across the region. The first four groups of polling officials from Oranjemund, !Nami#nus, Karasburg East and Karasburg West constituencies were already hard at work yesterday. They collected materials from Keetmanshoop police station and left for their duty stations shortly thereafter.

“All logistics are in place. All vehicles are secured for them,” he said.
Touching on the availability of vehicles, he said although there was some concern about the availability of vehicles in the beginning, all but five vehicles needed for the operation have now been acquired; the other five were expected to arrive by yesterday afternoon.

He added that of the 69 vehicles needed for the region, 40 have already been provided by the government, while 24 were acquired from private individuals.

Asked about the overall training process, Isaacks said he was highly impressed by the level of maturity and commitment shown by polling officials during the entire training session, saying he is very satisfied with their behaviour and the discipline they have shown.

“I think they are ready to go out there and perform their duties,” he said confidently.
He also commended the various political parties for good behaviour and good work ethics, while calling on voters in the region to turn up in huge numbers to cast their votes.

Six of the seven constituencies in the //Karas region will be contested by Swapo, DTA and RDP, after the !Nami#nus constituency was won uncontested by Swapo.

The race for seats on the nine local authorities in the region will also be fiercely contested by the same three parties, with DPN, RP and WRP only contesting the Karasburg and Keetmanshoop municipal elections.
A total of 487 polling officials – making up 87 teams in total – will be deployed in the region.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here