Bukalo holds primary elections



Swapo Party recently held primary elections to elect nominees to contest for the positions of councillors in the local authority elections slated for late November.

The election in late September was overseen by Swapo Party parliamentarian Heather Sibungo, who is among the ruling party’s national leaders assigned to the Zambezi Region.

Topping the list of primary election victors was popular Swapo party cadre Charles Siyauya, followed by Agnes Simasiku who polled the second largest number of votes and at number three was Louis Matomola, who polled the third largest number of votes while Kandy Namatama came fourth.

Magret Mafwila came in at number five, while Anoscar Mutumuswana was number sixth, followed by Tombi Mwilima with Bernard Masangu trailing the pack.

Silvester Sibuku was also in the mix, but his name was rejected when it was sent for final vetting and approval by the Swapo Party HQ in Windhoek.

Currently the Bukalo Village Council has five seats, four of which (80 percent) are occupied by Swapo councillors, while the opposition Congress of Democrats (CoD) has one seat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here