SADC Essay Prize Winners


By Frederick Philander


The winners of the SADC Essay Competition for Secondary Schools for 2007 were announced on Friday.

The first prize (US$500) went to Grade 11 learner Nelda Pretorius (second, left) from Educate Aca-demy Private School in the Otjozondjupa Region. The second prize (US$300) was awarded to Grade 11 learner, Anne-Marie Meyer (second, right) from Tsumeb Secondary School in the Oshikoto Region and the third prize (US$200) was awarded to Grade 12 learner, Martha Mwatile (right, front) from Toivo ya Toivo Secondary School in the Oshana Region.

Learners were asked to write an essay on, “What do you think are the causes of poverty in the SADC region and what steps should be taken by SADC member states and non-state actors to do away with poverty?”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here