Gawaseb and Damaseb to Go?


By Kuvee Kangueehi GOBABIS A major shake-up is looming at Soccer House following the first executive meeting of the new Namibia Football Association (NFA). The new executive, under the leadership of John Muinjo, met for two days and deliberated on 27 agenda items which focused mainly on reviewing the performance of the NFA Secretariat. Although the NFA President, Muinjo, and the public relations officer, Beau Kauta, refused to discuss the resolutions taken at the meeting, New Era has reliably learned that the current Secretary-General of the NFA, Alpheus Gawaseb, is set to go. A member of the executive said NFA Executive decided that Gawaseb would be forced to go on leave while someone will be acting in his place until the position is advertised. The member of the said new Executive was simply not happy with the performance of the incumbent SG and believes that the latter is a liability to the secretariat. New Era has also learned that the current Brave Warriors team manager, Markus Damaseb, will be given his marching orders. Damaseb, who was a former NFA Executive member, was appointed team manager almost two years ago while his cousin, Judge Petrus Damaseb, was still the president of the NFA. Damaseb is set to be replaced by Tim Isaacs. Another NFA member contact for comment, Barry Rukoro, refused to shed any light on the outcome of the meeting and said a media briefing would be held this week to inform the media accordingly. Meanwhile, Namibia will compete in the annual Council of Southern Africa Football Association (COSAFA) Under-20 tournament billed for South Africa from December 8 to 18. The National Under-20 Technical Team has called up 23 national side hopefuls for a training camp which kicked off this week. The lads have training sessions twice a day. Team Manager, Lesley Kozonguizi, informed Nampa Friday that only 20 out of 23 players called would make the trip to South Africa. Players called are: Lazarus Kaimbi, Gotlieb Nakuta, Ivan Makina, Knowledge Ipinge, Gregory Horaeb, Pat-Nevin Uanivi, Angula da Costa, Gerson Ganaseb, Jingelbells Bezuidenhout, Charles Uirab, Kenny Malgas, Tangeni Shipahu, Wycliff Kambonde, Maximilian Mbaeva, Eslin Kamuhanga, Raymond Soreseb, Maxim Nuumbembe, Akio van Wyk, Tara Katupose, Michael Shaanika, Ricardo Tjiuoro, Stefan Diergaardt and Ockert Gaeb.