New Arts Body Chooses Leaders


Namibian artist Alpheus Mvula had been elected chairperson of the newly formed ‘Visual Artists – Namibia’ organization’s management, it was announced in a press release this week. Over fifty visual artists attended the official launch and first AGM of Visual Artists – Namibia on 7th April 2006 at the National Art Gallery in Windhoek. The guest speakers at the occasion were Joseph Madisia, director of the National Art Gallery and Alcina Ndjavera, the project officer of UNESCO. Helge Denke, the chairperson of the Interim Committee, introduced the new organisation to the visual artists and explained the membership structure – the organisation aims to be entirely member driven, with all members being visual artists. At the same event it was clarified to the artists present that anyone who identifies him/herself as a visual artist is welcome to belong to the organisation. The annual membership fees are N$60 for individuals (or N$40 for pensioners and students), N$100 for partner organisations and N$1000 for sponsoring members. The draft constitution of VA-N was officially adopted and visual artists were nominated and voted in as the first executive committee of the organisation. Following their first meeting on 11th of April the following positions on the committee were filled: Chairperson – Alpheus Mvula Vice-chairperson – Marianne Von de Lippe Treasurer – Risto Iita Secretary – Kirsten Wechslberger Member – Nicky Marais Project Advisor – Papa Shikongeni Activists – Ziggy Marthin Shiya Karuseb Kevin Tjiuru Fillipus Sheehama Ismael Tjijenda The new executive of VA-N invites all visual artists in Namibia to become members of the organisation and encourages them to come up with new exciting projects and ventures for the benefit of the visual arts in Namibia. For more information please contact Alpheus Mvula: 081 248 2543, email Nicky Marais: or write to VA-N: PO Box 24822, Windhoek, Namibia