Rock in the new year tonight


ROCK band Penilane kicks off the music year with a gig tonight at the FNCC, it was announced in a press release. Penilane was formed mid-2004 by Roy-Lee Kitt, Michael Ott and Thomas Hoffmann and within only a month they were ready to crack the live scene with five original songs. After jamming together for just a few months Thomas moved overseas to look for greener pastures. His gap was filled by the young and talented Christoph de Chavonnes Vrugt, who was only 16 years of age when he joined the band. With influences ranging from old school rock to more contemporary music, Penilane’s unique and exciting sound recaptures the spirit of powerful and moving progressive rock. The band touches on serious issues, while at the same time poking fun at society and conventional wisdom – with a current set list of 18 songs. Penilane had its debut at the Karibib Arts Festival in June 2004. From there the band moved from strength to strength, sharing the stage with Namibian star Ras Sheehama, as well as opening for South African headliners such as Johnny Clegg, PJ Powers, Steve Hofmeyr, The Narrow and Arno Carstens. They also took part in 2005 at the great World music day show at the Warehouse. Penilane recorded their debut demo album titled “40 bucks” at the end of 2004, and they will be back in the studio beginning 2006.