AFCON Bid Goes Big Time


High Profile Names Roped In By Kuvee Kangueehi WINDHOEK In the attempt to bring the African Nations Cup to Namibia in 2010, the Namibia AFCON 2010 Bid Committee has appointed a number of prominent Namibian personalities as bid ambassadors. Although the official announcement of the ambassadors will be made today, New Era has learned that the founding President of Namibia, Sam Nujoma, has been appointed as the Patron of the Bid Committee while Namibia’s first Prime Minister Hage Geingob has been appointed as the Ambassador at Large. The Namibia AFCON 2010 Bid Committee is definitely hoping to capitalise on the influence Nujoma and Geingob have on their fellow African leaders. Their influence will be crucial as Namibia will be hoping to get votes from other African countries to win the bid. Nujoma is highly regarded on the African continent for leading the Namibian struggle for Independence and being the first Namibian president for fifteen years and ensuring peace and stability. Geingob, who is also the patron of the Namibia Football Association (NFA) has not only charmed Namibia and the rest of the continent with his warm personality but is also a big sports fan. The first Prime Minister almost attends all major sporting activities in the country and it is no surprise that the national rugby stadium has been named after him. The NFA president Petrus Damaseb has been appointed as the Chairman of the Bid Committee. Damaseb, who is serving his second term as the NFA president is also an executive member of Cosafa and CAF. Damaseb is also expected to attend the CAF congress, which will take place before the African Nations Cup kicks off in Egypt on Friday. His attendance will be important as he will meet the new CAF leaders who will ultimately decide who will win the bid. The permanent secretary of the Ministry of Youth, National Service, Sport and Culture Peingonndjabi Shipoh is the chairman of the executive committee, which will run the operations of the Bid Committee. The project team consists of Saul Kahuika, Marcus von Blottnitz and Halleluya Jafet who is the secretary. As ambassadors the Bid Committee has double Olympic silver medallist Frank Fredericks and Namibia’s Sportswoman of the year and international middle distance runner Agnes Samaria. The University of Namibia Vice-Chancellor Lazarus Hangula, Rector of the Polytechnic of Namibia Tjama Tjivikua and Namibian political analyst Joseph Diescho are also ambassadors. The Government Institutions’ Pensions Fund Chief Executive Officer Primus Hango, Namibian well-known farmer and businessman Sidney Martin and eye specialist Dr Helena Ndume are some of the surprise names as ambassadors as well. The ambassadors appear to be people from different walks of life.